h1

Warriors in Pink

April 5, 2009

“Dear Chrys,

I’m writing because my friend Ginny just found a lump in her breast and has no insurance to pay for a mammogram. I’ve heard you talk about breast cancer and the Race for the Cure and I’m just wondering if you can tell us where Ginny might get some help?  She’s very scared and doesn’t know where to turn. ”

Not a week goes by that I don’t get an email like this one (I’ve changed the name here) or a phone call from someone looking for help for a loved one who finds a lump,  needs a mammogram, or needs some support services as she goes through breast cancer treatment.   It always makes me feel good to know there are a variety of programs and services available to those women, funded in part by our local NW Ohio Komen for the Cure.      The Race for the Cure in September is NW Ohio Komen’s signature event and biggest fundraiser, but people all over our area have organized events like Volley for the Cure (volleyball), Rally for the Cure (golf), Kickin’ it for the Cure (soccer)  and others to raise money and awareness for this important cause.   Last week at our annual grant luncheon NW Ohio Komen for the Cure awarded nearly $800,000 to a variety of programs and services to help people in our area.  These are the warriors who fight breast cancer every day right here in NW Ohio and SE Michigan. 

$141,261 went to our Region 3 and Region 4 Breast and Cervical Cancer Project administrators who provide breast screening and diagnostic services to women in 18 counties.   More than 2,000 women will be served by this program this year.   $143,831 went to Mercy Health Partners, Mercy Memorial Hospital System, Putnam County Health Department and Toledo-Lucas County CareNet to provide screening, treatment and education services for 1565 women who can’t afford them.   Pathstone’s Mujeres Encontra Del Cancer De Seno program provides education, screening, treatment, transportation and translation services to more than 1,000 farm workers in 11 of our counties.   Komen granted the program $55,550.   $25,000 will help the North Coast Cancer Foundation provide radiation therapy for 50 underinsured women in our area.  That’s more than 4600 women who would not otherwise get mammograms or treatment for breast cancer.  Who knows how many of those women’s lives will be saved because of those services?

Komen is also providing grants to three programs for support services.  Flower Hospital received $39,512 to launch a new program which will provide support services to 210 breast cancer survivors in Lucas County.  The Victory Center received $5,966 for breast cancer support services, and Reeling and Healing, a fly-fishing retreat for breast cancer survivors received $2,200.

In addition to all the local grants, our NW Ohio Komen affiliate sent more than $200,000 to the national Komen office for breast cancer research.  Scientists are making breakthroughs in treatments and potential cures every day, and our local money is helping that effort.

One in every 8 women is diagnosed with breast cancer in this country, so it’s something that has touched all of our lives in some way.    A heartfelt thanks to all of you warriors who are saving lives and making a difference every day to the women in our community!

If you need help, or know someone who does, contact the NW Ohio Komen for the Cure at 419-724-CURE (2873) or visit online at http://www.komennwohio.org/

6 comments

  1. Dear Chrys, I saw an ad for the Breast and Cervical health Screening Project in my local coupon paper. I called them because I have no insurance and had not had a pap exam in many years. This program is a godsend! A benign dysplasia was foung on my cervix and if not for this program, it may have evolved into cervical cancer before I knew about it. The funding for these programs is essenstial, in this economic climate, even those of us who have jobs have trouble affording insurance. I want to thank you and everyone else who has made these programs possible. They save lives! Thank you, Ivy


  2. So glad you were able to get help, Ivy!
    That’s why we raise the money!!
    God bless!
    Chrys


  3. OH! You’re my new favorite blogger fyi


  4. Thanks Chrys, You just provided me with information that I needed. I no longer have insurance and can’t afford to pay this myself and don’t qualify for medicaid. This is an avenue that I will persue. I have NEVER had a breast exam, and not kept up on the PAP test either. I will be doing both soon. Thanks for all the good work you do for others and enjoy watching you on the news. See you at 6:00 on 11.


  5. I love useful information. I went through this same scare 4 yrs. ago. I am blessed to have insurance. I did what we all should do, got my annual check up and my doc of 20 years suggested I get a mamogram. I was told I could follow up with another one in six months or get a biopsy. I chose the biopsy. Waiting for the results was the hard part. My grandmother was a double breast “amputee”(that’s what I call it). The support with all involved in my case was embraced by me. I was 38 at the time and afraid. I know women have options and early detection is your best survival tool. My cancer was benign but I still remember the roller coaster I went through. I can’t think of how much harder it has to be to go through this alone and without insurance. Thank you for such important information. There are many diseases that we should not die from and breast cancer should not be one of them due to finances or lack of awareness. Chrys thanks for what you do to support the cause and continue to keep us informed.


  6. As a breast cancer survivor of 6 years I thank you for getting information out to those in need. God bless.



Leave a Reply

