h1

Cinderella Story

March 16, 2009

It’s not something you can see…at least not immediately.   The calendar changes from February to March with fairly little brou-ha-ha…but somewhere out there, the fairy godmother of college basketball waves her magic wand, and you know something’s different.   Suddenly, the teams that were getting beat by 15 or 20 points a game earlier in the season are making magical 3-pointers, taking the game into overtime, and yes, sometimes even winning.   Games that should have been over in regulation go on and on (like the 6 OT game I saw Thursday night between Syracuse and UConn).    If you’ve heard it once, you’ve heard it 100 times during the television coverage of March Madness:  “the Cinderella Story.”  Yes…that fairy godmother’s out there somewhere laughing her head off. 

For 15 years, I’ve anchored the news at WTOL, and during all those years, CBS has carried the tournament.  That can mean some late nights for us news people.  One year, the fairy godmother was really feeling spunky and gave us not only several overtime games, but a broken backboard that had to be replaced before play could resume.  That year, we actually went on the air with our 11 PM news at 2:11 AM.   

And yet, even for those of us who don’t follow college basketball all through the season, March Madness is a rush.   I LOVE getting my office bracket sheet, looking at the teams, and deciding who will win.  I admit…as someone who doesn’t follow college basketball, I use unorthodox methods to choose my teams.   “Let’s see…I lived in New Mexico as a child…so they’ll definitely win.”    “George Mason?   They’re in the same conference as my alma mater, James Madison University, so I’ll pick them.”    And so on. 

This is where the fairy godmother gets her biggest chuckle.  With the wave of that magic wand, even knuckleheads like me can win the office pool.  And I have.  TWICE!    This doesn’t always sit well with the “others” in the pool who have carefully analyzed season statistics and watched game films over and over before making their choices.   Nope…the men don’t like it one bit.    One of my winning seasons was when I picked Arizona to win the championship.    Every time they’d advance, one of the sports-savvy men in the pool would say “Well, they shouldn’t have won that game…”  and would then give me 27 reasons why.  “Yes,” I said “but they DID win.”   Cha-CHING!!  And that’s how I became Cinderella that year.

This year, I’m again making my picks without any knowledge whatsoever of any of the teams playing in the tournament, and I’m making them with complete confidence.   Wave your wand, fairy godmother.   Mama needs a new pair of glass slippers!

One comment

  1. Chrys,

    First, let me say that I enjoy you coming into my home every evening for the news and I also love your commitment to the Race For The Cure (my mom is a survivor). Second, I have become a follower of your blogs and can’t wait to read when you have a new post, and I too am a recent addict of FB. Keep up the good work in all you do!!

    PS good luck with the brackets this year!!



Leave a Reply

