h1

V-Day

February 10, 2009

Less than a week away from the holiday that makes men AND women sweat, you might assume that the “V” in V-Day stands for Valentine.  But you would only be 1/3 right.   This particular “V” stands for Victory, Valentine, and Vagina. 

Yes…I know that last one can be a difficult word to say.  Even the most mature people have trouble getting it out without an accompanying snicker…or grimace.   Yet, V-Day has become an important awareness and fundraising event across the world, and this year, I’ll be on stage to support the movement. 

The request came over the holidays when my daughter was performing in the Toledo Rep’s production of  “A Christmas Carol.”   The artistic director, Gloria Moulopoulos asked if I would consider performing in a production of “The Vagina Monologues.”   My initial response was “I don’t know, Gloria…”  first of all, because of my position at the station, I try to stay away from any racy or controversial activities; secondly, it’s been 30 years since I’ve actually performed in a play.    But when she told me the play was part of a V-Day production to benefit the YWCA and raise awareness of violence against women, I wanted to know more. 

According to the V-Day website,  “V-Day is a global movement to stop violence against women and girls…to increase awareness, raise money and revitalize the spirit of existing anti-violence organizations. V-Day generates broader attention for the fight to stop violence against women and girls, including rape, battery, incest, female genital mutilation (FGM) and sexual slavery.”      When I learned more about the movement, and all the women in the world who face that violence every day, I just couldn’t say no. 

So, this Valentine’s Day, my husband is off the hook…although he might still be sweating a bit.   I told him there was no need to plan a romantic evening this year, because I would be performing in a play for charity.   When he found out all the details, he probably wished he could just pick up the phone to make some dinner reservations and order some flowers.  But he’s a good sport, and he’ll be at Owens Community College’s Center for Fine and Performing Arts Saturday night (maybe not in the front row!) to show his support for me…and to do his part to make this world a better place for our 8 year old daughter Riley, his grown daughter, Apryl, and his new little granddaughter, Zoe.   

I can’t think of a better Valentine he could send to the girls in his life!      

For more information on V-Day, check out newsite.vday.org.  For tickets to see “The Vagina Monologues,” call the Toledo Repertoire Theater at 419-243-9277.

2 comments

  1. Good for you Chrys! I am sure you will be fantastic.


  2. I hadn’t heard about this production. Sounds like a worthy cause. In my mind, people make a little more out of the valentine’s Day “magic” than is really necessary. I always tell my other half-Just be nice to me all year long and you’re off the hook for Feb 14 specifically.
    Thanks for sharing your insights in the blog so far- quite interesting. CO



Leave a Reply

