h1

Snow Job

January 28, 2009

I must be right up front with you:  I am a warm-weather person.  I love the sun, I love the pool, the beach, water-skiing, boating, and watching baseball games in the summer.   Let’s just say Old Man Winter and I would not be paired on match.com.  

My first and happiest memory of snow was when I was 6 years old, living in Albuquerque, New Mexico.   My brother and I made a snowman,  went sledding, and my mom made “snow ice cream.”   Great memories.   Then, something happened as I grew older.  I was expected to *shovel* the snow, snow cancelled my sporting events and worst of all: my mom would NOT let me drive as a teenager when it snowed.     I went snow skiing on a particularly sunny weekend and got sun poisoning.   My face puffed up like a blowfish.   My lips swelled to 10 times the size of Angelina Jolie’s.    My eyes were swollen shut.     I didn’t want to see snow, be near snow, drive in snow and it was years before I worked up the courage to go snow skiing again…and only because it was overcast outside!     

So imagine the irony of me choosing a career in TV news…which is definitely a “Snow Job” of sorts.    While some people get a day off school or work when a snowstorm blows through, news people are called in early…getting to work however they can on roads that have not yet been driven on…much less plowed.  (For this reason, many news people consider it a necessity to have 4-wheel or at least front-wheel drive vehicles.)      I covered the “Blizzard of ’93” for days when I worked in Pennsylvania (nearly 3 feet of snow!), and some of you may remember me reporting from a snow-bound New York City in January of 1995.  I was there to do a series of reports on “Behind the Scenes at CBS” and actually ended up reporting on the 15 inches of snow that crippled the Big Apple for DAYS.   I had to walk nearly 40 blocks to get to the CBS News building because there were no taxis running.   And yes, you’ve seen me out in the snow here in Northwest Ohio as we’ve dealt with snowstorms over the years.

But a funny thing has happened as I’ve grown older:  I don’t dread the snow anymore.    I don’t have to shovel it anymore–I married a man who loves to do that.  (And when he’s out of town, my neighborhood snow wizards, Stan, Chad and Logan do it for me!)   I drive very slowly–even on the highways–to and from work,  and when fresh snow is falling and I arrive home from work at 12:30 or 1 AM, I often stand outside and admire the sparkling terrain and snow-capped trees.  In those moments, in the middle of the night, it’s so quiet you almost think you can hear the snow fall.     I’ve even been known to take a turn down the big sled hill at Northview High School with my daughter and my husband.    No…I don’t dread the snow anymore.     And that’s no snow job.

3 comments

  1. Hi Chrys,
    Wonderful story. I don’t think it is necessaily that you are older, that you become tolorant of snow.
    I believe it is because you are a mom now. I never cared much for snow as I grew older, then came the children and the grandchildren. When you look at snow through their eyes it’s an adventure not an inconvenience. Thank you for sharing a delightful story. —–Mary—-


  2. Hi Chrys, Oh..I now hate the snow, hate cold weather too. I remember staying outside till my mom would make us come in for the night. I had 7 other brothers and sisters and we made snow forts, played duck-duck-goose and made snow angels. We were so full of snow that mom had to use a broom to sweep us off before we could go into the house. We played like that all winter long. Now you can hardly get kids to go out like that anymore. I might hate the cold weather but I love the memories that it left me with.


  3. Hi Mary & Chris, I relate to what you both said. I don’t too much remember my parents having snowball fights, making snow angels or snowmen with us, but my siblings and I did as kids. I continued the “tradition” with my kids. Yes I too had to use the broom to get the snow off their snow suits at the end of our play time. My children and I would have fun shoveling the snow together and having snowball fights at the same time. We have had a lot of snow this season and my kids are older and only come home for college breaks. I have found it is not fun to shovel snow without the kids and now my hubby has taken over the job this winter. It is now considered a chore to me. Mary I agree with you on seeing things through a childs eyes. I am a semi emptynester but I have taken neighborhood kids and nieces and nephews to see The Mud Hens or to the Zoo. The first time I took them I was like a kid in the candy store for the first time. Seeing their faces light up and knowing I got to not only do this for them but they will never forget it is so touching. BTW hubby does not like the zoo because it’s too much walking for him. He did finally go with me and other kids to see a Hens game last summer. He loved it. It was once again a new moment in my eyes seeing him being a kid. He had never had chili fries before, another great moment. Hubby and I were talking tonight and he can’t wait for me to get tickets so he can go back and see the Hens play. I get free tickets from work and alternate kids, and someone in my group always catches a ball. We wait in line after the game is over and get it signed. Imagine the surprise on the faces of the parents when we drop the kids off and their child has a signed baseball that their kid caught. ‘priceless’.
    I will in advance say that I know this is a new blog, I love to type and my comments may be long at all times. Mary and Chris your comments just took me back down memory lane, and I love to share my life stories.



Leave a Reply

